简介

年龄增长引致身体机能退化,同时带来健康挑战。大部份长者需要面对一个以上的长期健康问题,需要持续的医疗和护理。在全球人口老龄化的大前提下,专业医护人员和家庭照顾者必须获得有关知识和技能,以应付长者日益复杂的健康情况。香港赛马会慈善信托基金于2018年批出港币2,400万元,以推行「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划。 「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划为期五年,目的是希望透过计划让专业医护人员和家庭照顾者获得最新的照顾长者资讯,以及提高公众意识。

除前线医护人员及院舍员工外,家庭照顾者亦担当一个重要角色。多国政府提倡医学-社会融合模式来应付人口老化带来的挑战。香港特别行政区提倡安老服务以「居家安老」和「持续照顾」为基本原则,目标是协助长者尽可能留在社区中安享晚年,体弱而又需要贴身个人护理的长者在别无选择下才应接受院舍照顾服务。因此家庭照顾者在护老任务担当较重要角色。 「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划希望可以帮助家庭照顾者和专业照顾者获得关于护理原则和实用技能的知识。

大多数体弱的长者都面对至少一个或多个慢性病,例如︰心脏病、肺炎、痴呆、失禁、跌倒导致骨折、抑郁症、体重下降、睡眠问题、皮肤问题、伤口愈合非常缓慢等等,在这健康问题众多的情况下实在令人难以承受。然而,在适当的照顾和支援下,长者仍然可以过着充满喜悦和尊严的生活。这突显出「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划的实用性和迫切性。

由于长者健康问题涉及复杂及多元角度,「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划从哪里开始是有挑战性的,我们拣选了一些最基本和实用的课题,配合现今的通讯发展建立在一个互动、方便使用的介面。 「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」在香港中文大学赛马会老年学研究所的支援下,将会开发一个开放式线上课程 (MOOC)及微型学习模组。我们亦会建立一个专用的网站和手机应用程式。 「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」是开放给公众,让所有的照顾者可以随时随地透过流动装置更新他们的知识。

「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」的目的是让专业人士了解他们在实际情况下应如何运用知识,以更有效的方法照顾体弱的长者,把实践和学习结合起来,透过真实的生活示范,为专业人员和家庭照顾者提供实用的技巧和在学习过程中获得启发。总括而言,我们希望透过「赛马会流金颂护老有e道」计划令照顾者方便地得到最新的护理资讯,从而令长者在日常照顾中获得最好的支援。

Introduction

Getting old can bring senior health challenges. As a person ages, one is far more likely to develop more than one long-term health issue that requires ongoing medical attention and care. In the context of global ageing population, there will be a greater need for healthcare professionals as well as family caregivers to acquire knowledge and skills in taking care of the increasingly complex chronic health conditions of older persons. The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust approved HK$24 million to launch the “Jockey Club CADENZA e-tools for elder care” (the Programme) in 2018. The project is a five-year initiative that aims at keeping the most updated information of elder care for caregivers, as well as raising public awareness.

Taking care of frail older people, in particular, requires knowledge in both fields of health as well as social care.  Such skills are particularly required to meet the challenges of ageing population using medico-social integration models, which are being advocated and developed all over the world. Nowadays, family caregivers are increasingly taking up the task of providing long-term care for their relatives at home as far as possible. In many cases, family caregivers provide essential services, and operate as front-line health service providers. They would surely benefit from acquiring knowledge regarding principles of care as well as practical skills.

A lot of the frail elders are coping with one or more of the following chronic health conditions such as heart conditions, pneumonia, dementia, delirium, incontinence, frequent falls which may end up in fractures, depression, weight loss, sleep problems, and thinner skin which can lead to tears or wounds that heal very slowly. The list of chronic health conditions in their care can seem overwhelming. However, with proper care and support, our frail elders can still lead a life filled with joy and dignity. 

There are a lot to consider when it comes to health problems of frail elders, and deciding where to start can be challenging. In order to fit in with the new communication era, the Programme, supported by the CUHK Jockey Club Institute of Ageing, will be developed as Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC) and micro modules. Understanding health problems of older people can be demanding, but we try to narrow it down to the essentials. The training mode will be scenario-based, with interactive online training material. CADENZA training material will serve as a base, and will be enhanced with the latest development of care to the elders. The Programme is open to anyone, but will be of particular relevance to professionals and caregivers who are involved in caring older persons with common health problems. Both MOOC and micro modules will be set up at a dedicated website and a mobile app. Caregivers can then update their knowledge with their mobile devices anywhere at any time. 

Furthermore, the objective of the Programme is to enable professionals to understand how they use their knowledge in practical situations, and how they can combine practice and learning in a more effective way in healthcare of frail elders. We will provide practical tips and real life demonstration for both formal and informal caregivers so that they can easily pick up cues in their process of learning. Nonetheless, the Programme aims to develop learners’ appreciation of a person-centered approach to care that will enable them to examine how people should be best supported as they age.